+   *    +     +     
About Us 
The Issues 
Our Research Products 
Order Publications 
Press Room 
Resources for Monitor Researchers 
Landmine Monitor
Table of Contents
Country Reports


The Union of Comoros signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions in Oslo on 3 December 2008. Minister of Foreign Relations and Cooperation, Mr. Ahmed Ben Said Jaffar, signed the convention on behalf of Comoros. The status of the ratification process is unknown.

Comoros is not known to have ever used, produced, stockpiled, or transferred cluster munitions. Comoros is not party to the Convention on Conventional Weapons.

Comoros first joined the Oslo Process during the Livingstone conference in March/April 2008, where it endorsed the Livingstone Declaration, calling for a comprehensive treaty with a prohibition that should be “total and immediate.”[1] While it did not attend the Wellington conference in February 2008, in April it subsequently endorsed the Wellington Declaration, expressing its intent to participate in formal treaty negotiations in Dublin in May.

During the negotiations, Comoros advocated for a strong treaty text and opposed the inclusion of a transition period for implementation of the convention’s provisions.[2] At the conclusion, Comoros agreed to adopt the convention text. At the Kampala regional conference in September 2008, Comoros announced that it would sign the convention in Oslo and work to ratify it.[3] Comoros also endorsed the Kampala Action Plan, in which participants declared that states should sign and “take all necessary measures to ratify the convention as soon as possible.”[4]

[1] Livingstone Declaration on Cluster Munitions, Livingstone Conference on Cluster Munitions, 1 April 2008.

[2] Summary Record of the Committee of the Whole, Dublin Diplomatic Conference on Cluster Munitions, Eighth Session: 23 May 2008, CCM/CW/SR/8, 18 June 2008.

[3] CMC, “Report on the Kampala Conference on the Convention on Cluster Munitions,” 29–30 September 2008.

[4] Kampala Action Plan, Kampala Conference on the Convention on Cluster Munitions, 29–30 September 2008.